The information below relates to whey from goat’s milk kefir.
Remember the nursery rhyme about little Miss Muffet eating her curds and whey? “Little Miss Muffet sat on her tuffet eating her curds and whey…”. I sang this song many times, but it was not until I began my traditional and whole foods journey that I discovered what whey actually is!
Many people have heard of whey as a protein powder supplement, however the original whey is something quite different.
Whey is the tart, golden liquid remaining after milk has been curdled and strained. Milk is curdled during the cheese, yoghurt or kefir making process. Sweet whey is a natural by-product of the cheese making process. You can make your own ‘sour whey’ by straining yoghurt or kefir. Liquid whey was known to the founding fathers of medicine as “healing water.” In fact, Hippocrates frequently recommended whey to his patients.
Whey from fermented milk (such as that made from kefir or yoghurt) is virtually lactose-free as the cultures digest the lactose during the fermentation process.
According to Dr. Thomas Cooper, goat’s whey can be used as a hypoallergenic protein substitute for children and adults who are allergic to cow’s milk. Dr. Cooper notes that over 90 percent of children who have an allergy to cow’s milk do not show allergy symptoms when using goat’s whey. For people who cannot tolerate cow’s milk, goat’s whey can be a good way to attain the benefits of drinking milk without the symptoms.
Introduction: 6 months
Airtight, glass jar in the refrigerator for up to 6 months
To make your own whey is so simple:
Line a sieve with cheesecloth or a coffee filter and place over a bowl. Pour in the kefir/yoghurt. Cover and allow to stand over night. In the morning you will have kefir/yoghurt cheese in the strainer, and whey in the bowl.
Whey can be added to any purée or smoothie for a nutrient boost. It can also be used for fermenting fruit and vegetables or when soaking your nuts, seeds, legumes and grains.