REVIEWS, TESTIMONIALS & WORDS TO HAPPY DANCE TO

What People Are Saying about

Mila's Meals (the book)

Greg Hodge (on Amazon.com)
13/1/2023
Read More
This book is a must have if you have little ones and want a wealth or wonderful recipes that are healthy and good for your children - that they will love. Highly entertaining, informative and makes me look like a super Dad. Love this book you can see a lot of love went in to it and the recipes are like a warm hug. 5 stars!
Ann (on Amazon.com)
8/1/2023
Read More
Very informative and easy to gain valuable knowledge regarding nutrition. Not just for kids, the recipies are delicious for adults too.
Dorky Hero (on Amazon.com)
8/1/2023
Read More
This book has become a treasured family book. We’ve used it from the beginning and still do! The whole family loves the recipes and a bonus is that it limits sugar and has no nasty hidden ingredients. Best book ever!
Alexis Scilipoti (on Amazon.com)
6/1/2023
Read More
I have loved this ebook. Been using the recipes since 2019 when my first child was born. From the bone broth, to the pesto and the sugar free dessert options. It’s been amazing for my second child who had a Candida overgrowth and couldn’t have yeast, sugar or anything that grows mould such as cheese. The pesto is always in our freezer for impromptu meals with friends and everybody loves it!
Elzahn Nel (on Amazon.com)
5/1/2023
Read More
My husband and I are both gluten free and when our baby came along we weren't exactly sure how to navigate his meals. I was introduced to Mila's Meals by my doctor and it has been such a game changer! SO many wonderful tips and advice! I believe the camu camu gummies were the first thing I made - easy, nutritious and delicious!
Cherie (on Takealot.com)
Cherie (on Takealot.com)
22/12/2022
Read More
This is an easy to follow guide to good, healthy eating for littlies and hopefully the whole family.
Hanni (on Takealot.com)
Hanni (on Takealot.com)
23/08/2022
Read More
a bible for all who want to learn about food and nutrients and a great book for all who are looking for a conservative, slow and allergen safe start into solids
Vanessa (on Takealot.com)
Vanessa (on Takealot.com)
12/07/2022
Read More
Really good useful gluten free recipe book. A variety of recipes that are local and easy to make.
Maxi Lee Machado (on Facebook)
18/11/2020
Read More
Oh who knew Pear pairs so incredibly and deliciously well with Sweet Potato and Butternut. My Buddha baby loves the purées we’re experimenting with him btw It never occurred to me to pair fruit and veg!!! What a winning combo it turned out to be. Thanks to Milas Meals - I feel so confident that my kids will get the right amounts of the good stuff. It’s so empowering! Thank you Catherine for sharing this with the world
Liesl Jansen Van Rensburg (on Facebook)
2/03/2020
Read More
This book inspired me so much that I started studying clinical nutrition! Never in my life have I ever come across a book that is so consuming. Every free minute of my day I find myself soaking up every bit of interesting information on each page, each time learning something new and eye- opening. This is truly a nutrition/food bible and every mom should have one. I literally cannot get enough of it, so much so that I have actually been neglecting my studies. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Linda Botha (on Facebook)
15/082019
Read More
The book, for one, resonated big time. There are ways to live healthy and still enjoy the foods of life.
Leanne C (on Amazon.com)
9/06/2019
Read More
This book is great. Really great recipes. It helped immensely once my daughter was diagnosed in November with many food allergies. I had no clue where to start but this was a life save. Looking forward to the next instalment on pre order soon.
Karen Cockerill (on Goodreads.com)
28/05/2019
Read More
This is a wonderful book has just about everything you need to know about healthy living for children. We don’t have a baby but we do have a child with allergies and I love that it has a huge party section - we haven’t tried all the recipes as yet but have gotten through about half so far. Most are yummy. If this was revised my only suggestion is an addition in soaking times as many of the recipes require soaking of grains to help digestion and decrease side effects. If you’ve never fermented food before you may also want a bit more in this section but otherwise the book answers just about any question you may want to ask...
Crystal Kruger-Naude (on Facebook)
14/04/2019
Read More
I can’t sing enough praise for this book. Every single parent or parent to be should be required to read this book. Yes! I’m serious. Even if you are not “free from,” this book is FULL of useful info & health tips that are so relevant today. Can’t wait for the next book!
Erin Gillman (on Facebook)
24/01/2019
Read More
Stunning book with so much information and guidance.
archilulu (on Faithful To Nature)
archilulu (on Faithful To Nature)
09/10/2018
Read More
Loving this book cover to cover with so much information that makes so much sense.
Dr. Daphne Lyell (on Facebook)
5/08/2018
Read More
Mila's Meals is an absolute MUST HAVE for anyone with kids (in fact - even without). I've used it in my integrative practice for over a year and am so glad to have a guide I can refer mom's too. In a time where there are so many conflicting ideas around food and nutrition, it's an absolute beacon of light! Thank you for creating such a beautiful and well researched book Catherine. May this travel to foreign shores very soon.
Q (on Faithful To Nature)
Q (on Faithful To Nature)
5/01/2018
Read More
I wish I had this book before I had my babies! Gosh, I wish my mother had this book when we were babies!! If you are looking for the best and healthiest way to raise your children, in fact, your entire family - get this book!! It will save you years of research and confusion- which I have been doing! Truly worth it’s weight in gold!! Get it as a baby shower gift! The mom will thank you for years to come!!
Cassie (on Faithful To Nature)
Cassie (on Faithful To Nature)
10/12/2017
Read More
Wow this book has really made a big impact on me! It has given me the tools to make the changes necessary to make my diet that much healthier. Full of helpful information in addition to the awesome recipes, I have ended up buying 5 more for family and friends and I am sure I will buy more!
Kate (on Faithful To Nature)
Kate (on Faithful To Nature)
28/11/2017
Read More
Bought this on the Black Friday sale and I am so glad I did, I have learnt a ton from it already and even started making some of the recipes. The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is that some of the recipes seem a little bit over complicated in terms of how many specialised ingredients are needed, some suggestions for alternative ingredients should certain ingredients not be available, would be very helpful here.
Rita (on Faithful To Nature)
Rita (on Faithful To Nature)
21/11/2017
Read More
Perfect for parents who want to get their kids started on solids the right way.
Annette (on Faithful To Nature)
Annette (on Faithful To Nature)
13/08/2017
Read More
Excellent book. So much information and lovely recipe ideas. Don't be put off by the price, it's a big book with loads of info and detail. Definitely worth it!
The International Rubery Book Award (on Goodreads.com)
2/08/2017
Read More
A gloriously illustrated book of recipes for a baby in its first year – all of which appear to be suitable for the entire family. It includes extensive information on every aspect of nutrition: additives, GM, allergies and food intolerances among many more. It’s packed with delicious recipes, all accompanied by mouth-watering pictures.
Simone (on Faithful To Nature)
Simone (on Faithful To Nature)
20/07/2017
Read More
I love how she creates healthy alternative for all the well liked toddler and child meals. I have this book out on my kitchen counter permanently. I reference it daily.
Lara Kirsten (on Facebook)
4/07/2017
Read More
Fantastic book and so much to learn! My picky little eater is loving the food I cook from Milas Meals.
Jane (on Amazon.com)
1/07/2017
Read More
I don't know what I would have done without this book. The recipes are delicious and the information about diet health and nutrition are excellent. Everything in the book just makes sense and the recipes are great for the whole family. It's been a present I give to friends when they have a baby as there a nothing else on the market like it.
Amazon Customer (on Amazon.com)
3/06/2017
Read More
The best and only book anyone needs when weaning their babies and it carries them through with a love of all the right foods to eat as they grow and discover more tastes. We love the recipes and use them regularly knowing we are feeding our kids the healthiest food we can!
Chris Pitt (on Amazon.com)
30/06/2017
Read More
Super stoked about this book! As a family who have allergies to pretty much all the main food allergens, I've struggled to feed everyone while retaining my sanity. So I'm very impressed with this book. Also happy that it's doesn't need weird ingredients, everything is fairly easy to find.
Michelle (on Amazon.com)
30/06/2017
Read More
What a well put together book! it's a great resource for any family who wants food that nourishes. The recipes are easy to follow and delicious. I can't wait for the next book to be released.
Kerry West (on Amazon.com)
30/06/2017
Read More
I can highly, highly recommend this book for everyone, not just mommies! It has been very lovingly put together, packed full with valuable nutritional information which is easy to read and (most importantly) understand! And don't forget all the fantastic recipes, something for every occasion! I keep my book in the heart of my kitchen, within easy reach!
Elijah (on Faithful To Nature)
Elijah (on Faithful To Nature)
12/06/2017
Read More
This book is life changing. Not only are the recipes great, but the wealth of useful, well researched, well laid out, easy to understand health information alone, makes it well worthwhile.
Sophie Smith (on Facebook)
8/06/2017
Read More
Just dosed my snotty little 14 month old girl with so much garlic in some yummy fishcakes - I still can't believe she likes them, and basil pesto!!
Clova (on Faithful To Nature)
Clova (on Faithful To Nature)
28/05/2017
Read More
Love this book! I bought it in preparation for introducing my little girl to solids and it has helped inspire me to approach something which was quite daunting. I'm now excited to get started!
Marelize Rhodes (direct email)
21/05/2017
Read More
I cannot describe the immense feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment after I have cooked a meal using your guidelines.
My new way of preparing food, to make it as nutrient dense as possible, has given me a new purpose and sense of gratification for real food.
After my two-year old was diagnosed with cancer last year, doing enormous amount of research, seeing Profs, Drs, nutritionists....I ultimately landed here - Mila's Meals has forever changed my life, my outlook on food and nutrition and what I feed my family.
This has had a ripple effect of change on my entire family (parents, two sisters - both with new-borns).
Words cannot describe how thankful I am. Please consider writing another book!
PS - My daughter is now cancer free (received the news this Monday)
Thank you for changing my life.
John Malherbe (on Facebook)
25/03/2017
Read More
Empowering !!! You'll be entertained and inspired while learn more about your health and how to choose your way out of ill health. Catherine makes complying easy. The depth of research and breadth of relevant and applicable knowledge is amazing. This book is not just for children but everyone.
Sally Stone (on Amazon.com)
28/11/2016
Read More
This book is a detailed compendium of all things nutritious and nourishing. A veritable Bible of whole foods, it has everything you’ll ever need to understand what and what not to feed your baby—as well as yourself. The best parts of the book debunk the traditional myths of what to feed your child then re-educate with solid science as to what to do differently—including a glossary of nutrients and many resources teaching you what to avoid. The how includes over 100 creative and delicious-looking recipes made with healthy whole foods and free from dairy-gluten-sugar as well as strategies for introducing your child to the world of “other people’s foods.” Catherine Barnhoorn gives you in-depth tools for raising your baby to be truly healthy, as opposed to the compromised type of health we’ve all come to expect on the average diet. You might just want to be reincarnated as her child!
Lara (on Goodreads.com)
15/10/2016
Read More
I got this book, even though I haven't started a family. Though the focus is very much about the first year of your child's life, it has countless recipes that are valid and applicable to everyone and anyone. So, though I'm sure it is the absolute best thing for a soon-to-be-mom or new mom, anyone can add this to their cookbook collection and find much use out of it. One of my favourite aspects is the attention to detail and the work that went into finding the right balance of GF starch/flour combinations for each recipe, so that it's not just the usual "buy a pre-made GF flour option" but an actual tailor-made GF recipe that works for each and every recipe in particular, for the best taste and consistency. You can see that the amount of work put into this book is staggering, and impressive.
Jenna Da Silva Pinto (on Goodreads.com)
19/09/2016
Read More
This is my bible when it comes to preparing food for my little one. So much information, so many great ideas, a phenomenal glossary. I would say that every single mom-to-be should read Catherines book (not to mention any adults suffering from auto immune issues!). Her gentle approach to introducing solids without falling prey to society's obsession with unhealthy treats for babies and toddlers is refreshing and inspiring. Gut health starts from birth and will effect your child's health throughout his/her life. It is time we start taking this seriously. Buy it!

Spending 3.5 years writing a book with the intention of self-publishing (so… without the support of a publishing team) can leave a lot of room for self-doubt to creep in!

I was blessed to have Dr. Jon Morley agree to review my book before I sent it to print. And these words gave me the strength and courage to see it through.

"I empathise with your feelings of doubt, I can only say doubt not and know your conviction. You are on the verge of creating such a community around the world, just wear shades coz the brightness is gonna get intense.
Stay strong in your belief." x

Shopping Basket
Scroll to Top

Ambassador Discount!

GET 50% OFF ALL INSTITUTE FOR INTEGRATIVE NUTRITION (IIN) & CHOPRA COURSES AND PROGRAMS!